Ninth Symphony flash mob in Germany

This performance of the Ode to Joy from the final movement of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony is very similar to one in Catalonia in 2011 (see link below), and as with that one, this was sponsored by a local bank.

The Hans-Sachs Choir and the Philharmonic Orchestra of Nuremberg performed in front of the Lorenz Church in Nuremberg (Nürnberg) Germany 2014 June 14.


Other flash mob performances of the Ode to Joy:

To see the symphony’s entire fourth movement performed in Osaka, Japan, with a chorus of thousands, see this post.

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailby feather


Ninth Symphony flash mob in Germany — 2 Comments

  1. Clearly this performance was first made in fashion Spain by Sabadell. It is ok to make a similar performance but copying the directing of the performance including the first violinist shaking hands with musicians or child climbing on light post is not ok.

    • I agree that the 2014 Nürnberg performance is almost certainly inspired by the one in Sabadell in 2011 (which I linked to in the main text), but I more or less assumed that the latter was done with the full knowledge approval, and acknowledgment of the Catalonians. After all, it was sponsored by a bank for promotional purposes, and I’d hope that the bank’s legal and PR people would be careful not to do something that would open them up to charges of plagiarism. However, that’s only an assumption on my part, and a very quick search of the web didn’t turn up anything pointing in either direction. I certainly agree with you that if the imitation wasn’t acknowledged it was pretty obnoxious behavior.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments are moderated, which can take up to a day (rarely even two), so please be patient. I welcome agreement, disagreement, and corrections on anything from substance to spelling. I try to weed out spam and anything defamatory or pointlessly insulting (to anybody), unless of course I think it's really funny.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.